Fennelly hits 24 as Ballyhale storm to seventh AllIreland crown with 17point

first_img Image: James Crombie/INPHO Short URL Share362 Tweet Email3 https://the42.ie/4547602 Ballyhale Shamrocks 2-28St Thomas 2-11Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke ParkTHE KINGS OF club hurling reigned again this afternoon, Ballyhale Shamrocks sweeping to their latest All-Ireland title with a powerful display that blew them past the challenge of Galway’s St Thomas.With their most celebrated name Henry Shefflin now directing operations on the sideline, the Kilkenny champions once more reached the peak with 17 points to spare at the final whistle.Man-of-the-match Colin Fennelly bagged 2-4 from play with TJ Reid’s haul of 0-9 and Adrian Mullen’s contribution of 0-5 also helping Ballyhale blitz the 2013 winners.The first half was characterised most by the interventions of Fennelly. By the interval he had two goals to his name, tipping a shot to the net in the 5th minute after his initial attempt was thwarted by goalkeeper Gerald Murray and then a lovely flick to meet a long Adrian Mullen delivery in the 22nd minute saw the sliotar nestle in the far corner in front of Hill 16.He could have raised a third green flag, his 20th minute one-handed swipe dropped just over the crossbar. But Fennelly was the perfect focal point for the Ballyhale attack and helped shape a 2-10 to 1-8 interval advantage.St Thomas were left reeling by a whirlwind Ballyhale start that left them adrift 1-4 to 0-1 by the 5th minute but steadied themselves to recover in the first quarter with Conor Cooney firing home a penalty.Immediately after the break, Darragh Burke struck a sublime score to leave St Thomas trailing by four but that was as close as they got. Ballyhale went through the gears and accelerated clear on the scoreboard. Between the 34th and 45th minute, they reeled off six points without reply and had sailed clear by ten at the three-quarter mark to essentially kill off the game as a contest.St Thomas lost Fintan Burke through injury but they kept battling and did grab a second goal late on courtesy of David Burke. However Ballyhale were on fire in attack in the closing stages with 0-12 to their credit in the last quarter to bring their second-half tally to 0-18 as they ran out emphatic victors.Scorers for Ballyhale Shamrocks: Colin Fennelly 2-4, TJ Reid 0-9 (0-5f), Adrian Mullen 0-5, Eoin Cody, Patrick Mullen, Brian Cody 0-2 each, Mark Aylward, Evan Shefflin, Ronan Corcoran, Richie Reid 0-1 each.Scorers for St Thomas: Darragh Burke 0-7 (0-5f, 0-1 ’65), David Burke, Conor Cooney (1-0 pen) 1-0 each, James Regan, Bernard Burke, Brendan Farrell, Damien McGlynn.Ballyhale Shamrocks1. Dean Mason2. Darren Mullen3. Joey Holden4. Brian Butler5. Evan Shefflin6. Michael Fennelly (captain)7. Patrick Mullen8. Ronan Corcoran9. Richie Reid 10. Brian Cody11. TJ Reid12. Adrian Mullen13. Eoin Reid14. Colin Fennelly15. Eoin CodySubs22. Mark Aylward for Eoin Reid (42)21. Conor Walsh for Corcoran (54)17. Kevin Mullen for Darren Mullen (58)23. Joseph Cuddihy for Eoin Cody (58)19. Gavin Butler for Michael Fennelly (60)St Thomas1. Gerald Murray2. Cian Mahoney3. Cathal Burke4. Sean Skehill5. Donal Cooney6. Shane Cooney7. Fintan Burke8. James Regan9. David Burke10. David Sherry11. Darragh Burke12. Bernard Burke13. Brendan Farrell14. Conor Cooney (captain)17. Damien McGlynnSubs19. Mark Caulfield for Fintan Burke (inj) (49)21. Colin Fallon for Regan (52)18. Cian Kelly for Sherry (57)20. Damien Finnerty for McGlynn (59)Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here: Colin Fennelly in action for Ballyhale against St Thomas. 20,625 Views By Fintan O’Toole Colin Fennelly in action for Ballyhale against St Thomas. Image: James Crombie/INPHO 9 Comments Fennelly hits 2-4 as Ballyhale storm to seventh All-Ireland crown with 17-point win The Kilkenny club were far too strong for Galway’s St Thomas today. Mar 17th 2019, 3:27 PM Sunday 17 Mar 2019, 3:27 PM Subscribe Tweet thisShare on FacebookEmail this articlelast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *